Collections

Barnsley's museum and archive collections include fine and decorative art, social and industrial history, archaeology, archival documents and photographs, local studies literature and sound and film. 

If you would like to make an enquiry about the collections, please email artsmuseumsandarchives@barnsley.gov.uk

 

Showing 1 to 10 of 57

Experience Barnsley

EARLY BRONZE AGE STONE HAMMER HEAD, c.2000 BC

This hammer head was found during the construction of Scout Dyke Reservoir at Ingbirchworth in the 1920s. Although for the past 40 years it has been used as a door stop! The hammer was owned by William Wadsworth who worked at Barnsley Corporation Waterworks, based at the town hall. The hammer was passed through the family and played with by grandchildren for decades. (LI.BMBC.TH.2012.14) Photo © Norman Taylor

Elsecar

Elsecar Park, mid 20th century

Created in its current form in the 1920s, the park is an award-winning greenspace that holds many memories.

Experience Barnsley

BLACK-GLAZED CERAMIC FLOOR TILE c.AD 1200-1300

Medieval tile fragment, glazed in yellow and black from the church floor at Monk Bretton Priory. BMBC.TH.1246 Photo © Norman Taylor

Elsecar

The Girl Pat

Many remember the rowing boat that was set up on the reservoir in the 1940s.

Experience Barnsley

BISCUIT FROM FIRST WORLD WAR, 1914-1918

George Burnett was 33 when he enlisted in the First World War to the 13th Yorks and Lancs Regiment in 1914. According to his army enlistment record, he had previously worked in a chemical factory. He was married to Eva Thornton and lived at King Street, Barnsley. George was lost on the Somme in 1916 for four days, and was later treated for Shell Shock in an army hospital. He brought home many items from the trenches, including this army issue biscuit. He returned to Barnsley to work in Borrow Colliery after being discharged from the army in 1919. Photo © Norman Taylor

Elsecar

Rows and Rows

Follow Wath Road and watch how the village expanded, with rows of cottages built end on end.

Worsbrough Mill

Family visit, 1970s

Ever since the mill opened to the public in the 1970s, it's been a much-loved place to visit for local families.

Cannon Hall

Rene Lalique figurine

Rene Lalique figurine, c.1900

Cannon Hall

Ceramic bowl

Ceramic bowl made by William de Morgan, c. 1890

Elsecar

Working in the New Yard

Thousands have worked in the workshops, offices and ironworks that are now packed with visitors and shops.