Collections

Barnsley's museum and archive collections include fine and decorative art, social and industrial history, archaeology, archival documents and photographs, local studies literature and sound and film. 

If you would like to make an enquiry about the collections, please email artsmuseumsandarchives@barnsley.gov.uk

 

Showing 51 to 57 of 57

Experience Barnsley

Bryony Nixon

Bryony Nixon with her school shirt signed by all friends on the last day of school.

Cooper Gallery

Hurricane Before St Malo

Hurricane Before St Malo in oil on canvas by Eugene Isabey (1803-1886), Cooper Bequest.

Experience Barnsley

Barnsley's first station

Barnsley's first station in Cudworth, 1840

Experience Barnsley

CHLOROFORM PURE 1944

Following his escape from a German forced labour camp during the Second World War, Frank Dubrowski joined the French Resistance where he was issued chloroform to be used as an anaesthetic. Members of the French Resistance fought against the Nazi occupation in France, they published underground newspapers, captured intelligence and kept escape routes open. It could be very dangerous work. After the war, Frank and his wife Annie, settled in Barnsley. They lived in Worsbrough Dale until they passed away, Frank in 2005 and Annie in 2012. Photo © Norman Taylor

Experience Barnsley

Bronze Roman bracelet, 2nd to 3rd century AD.

Bronze Roman bracelet, 2nd to 3rd century AD. This roman bracelet was found during open cast coal mining at Billingley in 1950. The ends of the bracelet are moulded in the form of a serpents head. BMBC.TH.1362 Photo © Norman Taylor

Experience Barnsley

EARLY BRONZE AGE STONE HAMMER HEAD, c.2000 BC

This hammer head was found during the construction of Scout Dyke Reservoir at Ingbirchworth in the 1920s. Although for the past 40 years it has been used as a door stop! The hammer was owned by William Wadsworth who worked at Barnsley Corporation Waterworks, based at the town hall. The hammer was passed through the family and played with by grandchildren for decades. (LI.BMBC.TH.2012.14) Photo © Norman Taylor

Elsecar

Canal. Railway. Colliery.

The canal was cut in the 1790s and the railway arrived in 1850. The colliery shown here is Elsecar Main, 1905-1983.